You don’t know what you think?


We were standing in the kitchen when he asked me the question. My hands were lost in the dishwater, he’d stopped clearing counters because something much more important had taken over his 5-year-old mind.

I don’t remember the question, something scientific. It was always something scientific, and I wasn’t interested.

“I don’t know,” I answered, reached for the sippy cup. I was eight.

“I know you don’t know,” he answered, impatient. “What do you think about it?”

“I don’t know anything,” I’d tell him. “I don’t think anything about it.”

And then bewilderment, irritation, maybe even disgust? wandered over his face.

“You don’t know what you think?” he demanded.

We had that conversation time after time. Sometimes he’d complain to mom. “Heather won’t tell me what she thinks!” And Mom would would assure him that I wasn’t withholding, I simply had no thoughts on the exact reason that hot air rises or the sky’s blue or that gravity pulls us in to the earth.

We’ve grown up since then. He’s in NYC, taking on a world of numbers and mathematical probabilities and so much beyond my ken.

I’m here outside of Pittsburgh, in a world made up of the concrete, of words, of actions.

He’s still ever so much smarter than I am.

I’m flying out to NYC tonight to see him, and I couldn’t be more excited. This time I’ll really try to think, I promise!

Have a great weekend, all, and check back Monday for pictures.

 

7 Comments

Filed under About

7 responses to “You don’t know what you think?

  1. Vicki Daniels

    God is so good to us. It is a such a joy to experience His creative diversity from the close up view of the family. You are each so different and so ultimately precious. I just hug you all to me in my heart. Enough sentimental mother ranting… Have a blessed weekend “thinking” with Joel.

  2. I have a great relationship with my brother too. He is a professor at a university in Vancouver and so much beyond my ken, yet we still love to talk and debate life, the universe and everything whenever we can. Enjoy your trip to NYC!

    • Fun, isn’t it? Sometimes we just need someone smarter than us to talk to! Plus I got really good at pretending I understood, since the more he said the more I would really catch up…. a great tool in reporting now!

  3. Ohhh, what a sweet tribute. Love this.

  4. LaVell Welborn

    Heather,
    I love your writings! It’s like I am right there with you, experiencing what you’re doing. You go girl! I have no doubt someday, I’ll get to come see you awared the Pulitzer (sp?) Prize.
    Love you,
    Nana

Leave a Reply

